Amy Clampitt: Collected Poems (787 words)

Celeste Goodridge (Bowdoin College)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Published in 1997, three years after the poet's death in 1994, The Collected Poems of Amy Clampitt includes the five volumes of poetry Clampitt published during the last eleven years of her life: The Kingfisher (1983), What the Light Was Like (1985), Archaic Figure (1987), Westward (1990) and A Silence Opens(1994). Clampitt, a major voice in contemporary American poetry, occupies an increasingly secure place in the canon; she might best be described as a late romantic who is thoroughly engaged with her own historical circumstances. As Bonnie Costello maintains: “Clampitt has absorbed the art of her predecessors, while turning her gaze and adapting her skill to the particular urgencies of her …

Citation: Goodridge, Celeste. "Collected Poems". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 January 2001 [, accessed 19 August 2022.]

5842 Collected Poems 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.