Kate Atkinson, Life After Life

Beatriz Domínguez García (Universidad de Huelva)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Life After Life (2013), like much of Kate Atkinson’s fiction, is deeply engaged with the ways in which the history of women is unaccounted for in a world in which historical evidence ignores the domestic sphere. Life After Life marks Atkinson’s return to female protagonists and women’s place in history after her four Jackson Brodie novels (2004 to 2010). The novel has been highly celebrated and won the Costa Award in 2013; the subsequent paraquel, A God in Ruins (2015), was promoted on the strength of these praises. The novel has been critically analysed for its plot and technique and the influence of what Emma Parker has labelled Atkinson’s “trilogy”. This novel, though …

2682 words

Citation: Domínguez García, Beatriz. "Life After Life". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 June 2021 [https://staging.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=38952, accessed 09 December 2023.]

38952 Life After Life 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.