Giacoma Limentani: Trilogia [Trilogy] (1579 words)

Luciano Parisi (University of Exeter)
Trans. by Charlotte Beare (University of Exeter)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Giacoma Limentani’s Trilogia (2013) contains three parts, each of which had previously been published as an independent text: In contumacia [In absentia] (1967), Dentro la D [Within the D] (1992), and La spirale della tigre [The Tiger’s Spiral] (2003). Although some minor details vary, these three texts have the same first-person narrator and tell different aspects of the same story: twelve-year-old Mina, left alone one afternoon of September 1938 with a sick grandmother in her family apartment in Rome, is raped by Fascist thugs and struggles for years to cope with this traumatic experience and its aftermath. The Fascists rape the girl mainly to show their power. …

Citation: Parisi, Luciano. "Trilogia". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 12 January 2018 [, accessed 27 November 2022.]

38815 Trilogia 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.