Leonardo Padura Fuentes, La Neblina de Ayer [Havana Fever]

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Leonardo Padura Fuentes is best known for his tetralogy Las cuatro estaciones [The Havana Quartet], written between 1991 and 1998 but set in 1989, just before the beginning of the Special Period, an epoch of severe economic and social hardship in Cuba. The tetralogy revolves around the investigations of police detective Mario Conde, a decent man caught between conflicting social realities in post-Soviet Cuba. Each of the four novels delves into distinct issues of Cuban society at the time, and each presents the character of Conde as a frustrated writer mired in nostalgia, forthright to the point of naïveté.

Padura’s detective reappears in several novels written after the Quartet, the first of which is La …

2379 words

Citation: Oxford, Lori. "La Neblina de Ayer". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 05 August 2016 [https://staging.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=35713, accessed 30 May 2024.]

35713 La Neblina de Ayer 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.