Pedro Juan Gutiérrez, Ciclo de Centro Habana

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

The Ciclo de Centro Habana, or Centro Habana Cycle, is a series of five novels by Cuban writer Pedro Juan Gutiérrez, set almost entirely in the decrepit downtown district of Centro Habana during the 1990s and early 2000s. Gutiérrez, a former journalist, has been called “Central Havana’s literary chronicler” due to his depictions of the lives of everyday people in the neighborhood during the economic crisis of this period (Ruffinelli 149). Communism’s fall in Eastern Europe in 1989 and the 1991 dissolution of the Soviet Union led to abject deprivation for many Cubans, and the scarcities that they suffered led to Fidel Castro’s naming the era “el Período Especial en tiempo de paz” [the Special Period in …

3224 words

Citation: Oxford, Lori. "Ciclo de Centro Habana". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 04 August 2016 [, accessed 30 May 2024.]

35712 Ciclo de Centro Habana 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.