Alex Wheatle: Brixton Rock (1912 words)

David Ellis (University of Wolverhampton)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Brixton Rock was published in 1999 and is Alex Wheatle’s first novel. Wheatle has subsequently published five other novels, a co-authored novel and a young adult fiction novel, with another novel in this genre due for publication in 2016. Wheatle’s novels, while independent narratives, build upon and expand a multi-generational group of characters living in South London that appear throughout his writing. For instance, the narrative events and characters introduced in Brixton Rock are brought to a resolution in what might best be read as its sequel, Brenton Brown (2011). While the motivational themes of identity, family, black culture and institutional racism that underpin Brixton Rock are not evident in e…

Citation: Ellis, David. "Brixton Rock". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 February 2016 [, accessed 19 August 2022.]

35668 Brixton Rock 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.