Leonardo Padura Fuentes, Máscaras [Havana Red]

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Máscaras [Havana Red] (1997) is the third novel in Cuban novelist Leonardo Padura Fuentes’ Las Cuatro estaciones [The Havana Quartet] tetralogy, though is marketed in Anglophone countries as the first in the series. Such a diversion from the original order may be due to Máscaras being widely regarded as the author’s finest novel from the series, having won Spain’s Café Gijón prize in 1995.

Máscaras is set in the summer of 1989 in Havana. The other novels take place during different seasons: Pasado perfecto [Havana Blue] (1991) in the winter, Vientos de cuaresma [Havana Gold] (1994) is set during the spring, and Paisaje de otoño [Havana Black] (1998) in the autumn.…

2726 words

Citation: Peate, Ailsa. "Máscaras". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 10 March 2015 [https://staging.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=35568, accessed 30 May 2024.]

35568 Máscaras 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.