C. J. Sansom

Siobhan O'Connor (Independent Scholar - Europe)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


C.J. Sansom’s first novel Dissolution, published in 2003, is the first instalment of a series of historical crime novels set in Tudor England whose protagonist is the crime-solving lawyer Matthew Shardlake. To date, seven Shardlake novels have been published spanning the reigns of Henry VIII and his son, Edward VI, with the series enjoying both commercial success and the acclaim of reviewers. In addition to his Tudor fiction, Sansom has published two standalone novels, Winter in Madrid (2006), set in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Dominion (2012), an alternative history set in an imaginary England of 1952 which, having reached a peace settlement with …

3768 words

Citation: O'Connor, Siobhan. "C. J. Sansom". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 14 July 2022 [https://staging.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=3930, accessed 30 May 2023.]

3930 C. J. Sansom 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.